Dwarf cancels task: Job item lost or destroyed
|This article was migrated from DF2014:Dwarf cancels task: Job item lost or destroyed and may be inaccurate for the current version of DF (v50.11). See this page for more information.
|This article is about the current version of DF.
Note that some content may still need to be updated.
A dwarf whose tasked item is no longer in the same tile as when his job was assigned will cancel the job with this message. Often the "missing" item will be a scant few tiles away, and the job can be reissued referencing its new location. Occasionally, the item will have actually been destroyed (possibly as the result of a cave-in or atom smashing).
While dwarves will not directly move tasked items, they may indirectly move them (such as by channeling out the floor underneath the item, disassembling a building containing the item, or removing the construction beneath the item). Items may also be moved by natural forces such as cave-ins and flowing liquids, or by one of the many thieving creatures in Dwarf Fortress.